Swiss Quality Paper AG

Environmental protection -
our great concern

Strong commitment to the environment

Sustainability & Certificates

International certificates

Ecological production processes

Sustainability and environmental protection are of great concern to us. For years, Swiss Quality Paper has been working continuously to make both the products themselves and the manufacturing process as environmentally compatible as possible. In particular, we comply with the requirements of the following two important international certificates:

For our products, this means above all that we avoid chemical or environmentally harmful additives whenever possible. Most of our products are biodegradable. To achieve such results, we are breaking new ground with our research and development team and actively working on the development of new technologies.

The basic material for paper production is natural wood fibre (also called pulp). We give preference to suppliers who attach importance to the reforestation of forests and bear the FSC® label. This means that the companies are committed to the internationally recognised standards of responsible forest management. A large proportion of our pulp comes from Scandinavia and Canada. In both regions, the labels are regularly checked and the industry is well supervised by the government. However, we cannot rely exclusively on European woods because, depending on the quality of the paper required, they do not meet certain properties and pulp manufacturers cannot source FSC wood exclusively either.

In the manufacturing process, we work to continuously reduce the need for resources. The internationally recognised ISO 14001 standard sets out the minimum requirements for an environmental management system. ISO 14001 certification therefore means that Swiss Quality Paper meets international standards in environmental management.

Within the company, various measures for environmental protection are defined, implemented and continuously improved. Our main resources for the production of specialty papers are gas, water and electricity.

We protect nature

Numerous certificates
confirm our commitment

Certified Management System

Quality Management System

Environmental Management System

The environmental organisation of the Swiss economy

Certified IQNet Management System

100% Bio Degradable Product

FSC ® Certificate

Certificate of the Swiss Private Sector Energy Agency

We protect nature

Our commitment to the environment

Water

Our mill was one of the first paper mills in the world to introduce a closed water circuit on a paper machine. This allowed us to reduce fresh water consumption to the smallest amount possible. Today, we have an in-house industrial wastewater treatment plant that recycles the water with effective microbacteria after various filtration systems. Nevertheless, the water is regularly discharged to the municipality's wastewater treatment plant and replaced with fresh water from our own source.

Energy

We invest a lot in energy-saving measures on the machines. Measures to cover our own energy requirements are being planned (solar system and renovation work to save energy).

Power

We already generate about 200'000 kWh ourselves through our turbine attached to the steam.

Swiss Quality Paper AG

Umweltschutz -
unser grosses Anliegen

Grosses Engagement für die Umwelt

Nachhaltigkeit & Zertifikate

Internationale Zertifikate

Ökologische Produktionsprozesse

Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz sind uns ein grosses Anliegen. Swiss Quality Paper arbeitet seit Jahren kontinuierlich daran, sowohl die Produkte selbst wie auch den Herstellungsprozess so umweltverträglich wie möglich zu gestalten. Wir halten die Vorgaben insbesondere der zwei folgenden bedeutenden internationalen Zertifikate ein:

Für unsere Produkte bedeutet das vor allem, dass wir auf chemische oder umweltschädliche Zusätze, wenn immer möglich, verzichten. Die meisten unserer Produkte sind biologisch abbaubar. Um solche Resultate zu erreichen, gehen wir mit unserem Forschungs- und Entwicklungsteam neue Wege und arbeiten aktiv an der Entwicklung neuer Technologien.

Das Basismaterial für die Papierherstellung ist natürliche Holzfaser (auch Pulp oder Zellstoff genannt). Wir bevorzugen Lieferanten, die auf die Wiederaufforstung von Wäldern Wert legen und das FSC®-Label tragen. Das bedeutet, dass sich die Betriebe zu den international anerkannten Standards einer verantwortungsvollen Waldwirtschaft bekennen. Ein Grossteil unserer Zellstoffe kommt aus Skandinavien und Kanada. In beiden Regionen werden die Labels regelmässig kontrolliert und die Industrie staatlich gut überwacht. Wir können jedoch nicht ausschliesslich auf europäische Hölzer setzen, da sie je nach benötigter Qualität des Papieres gewisse Eigenschaften nicht erfüllen und auch Zellstoffhersteller nicht ausschliesslich FSC-Holz beziehen können.

Im Herstellungsprozess arbeiten wir daran, den Ressourcenbedarf kontinuierlich zu senken. Die international anerkannte Norm ISO 14001 legt die Mindestanforderungen an ein Umweltmanagementsystem fest. Die ISO 14001-Zertifizierung bedeutet folglich, dass Swiss Quality Paper internationale Standards im Umweltmanagement erfüllt.

Innerhalb des Betriebes werden verschiedene Massnahmen für den Umweltschutz definiert, umgesetzt und stetig verbessert. Unsere Hauptressourcen für die Produktion von Spezialpapieren sind Gas, Wasser und Strom.

Wir schützen die Natur

Zahlreiche Zertifikate
bestätigen unser Engagement

Zertifiziertes Management System

Quality Management System

Environmental Management System

Die Umweltorganisation der Schweizer Wirtschaft

Certified IQNet Management System

100% Bio Degradable Product

FSC Certificate

Certificate of the Swiss Private Sector Energy Agency

Wir schützen die Natur

Unser Engagement für die Umwelt

Wasser

Unser Werk war eine der ersten Papierfabriken weltweit, die einen geschlossenen Wasserkreislauf an einer Papiermaschine einführte. Dadurch konnte der Frischwasserverbrauch auf die kleinste Menge reduziert werden. Wir verfügen heute über eine hauseigene industrielle Abwasserreinigungsanlage, die das Wasser nach verschiedenen Filteranlagen mit effektiven Mikrobakterien wiederaufbereitet. Trotzdem wird das Wasser regelmässig in die Abwasserreinigungsanlage der Gemeinde abgeleitet und durch frisches Wasser aus der eigenen Quelle ersetzt.

Energie

Wir investieren viel in energiesparende Massnahmen an den Maschinen. Massnahmen, um unseren Energiebedarf selbst zu decken, sind in Planung (Solaranlage sowie Renovationsarbeiten zur Einsparung von Energie).

Strom

Wir generieren bereits ca 200’000 kWh selbst durch unsere am Dampf angehängte Turbine.