Moving history

Rich in tradition:
Swiss Quality Paper

Tradition and innovation

The story
our company

Swiss Quality Paper AG has been manufacturing high-quality paper products since it was founded. The paper mill looks back on a long and eventful history.

 In all these years, she has successfully navigated through an environment that is constantly undergoing major changes. Several times she has stood out as a pioneer and become known worldwide with innovations and specializations.

1883 Foundation
Industrial paper production

Industrial paper production in Balsthal begins in 1883. Robert and Arthur Bareiss found the limited partnership Papier- und Couvertfabrik Balsthal and install the first paper machine one year later. But the roots of the company go back even further: to a medieval grain mill and a wood grinding mill.

1896 Product diversity
Second paper machine

A second paper machine with a smoothing cylinder is put into operation. With this, one-sided smooth papers for toilet paper books and rolls as well as envelopes can be made - a pioneering achievement. Until then, such products had to be imported from abroad. In a short time, the factory produces a wide variety of products, including exercise book covers and candy cane paper.

1911 Electrics & new paper machines
Other paper products

From 1900, paper processing is further expanded so that office papers can also be produced. In 1911, the entire plant is electrified. Two more paper machines are installed. This means that printing and writing paper, cardboard, tissue paper and thin parchment can also be produced.

1918 Expansion paper processing
Coba envelope factory

The Coba envelope factory is established. Paper processing is further expanded.

1927 Tissue paper manufacture
Paper machine 5

Paper machine 5 with smoothing cylinder for tissue paper is introduced.

1933 Cell and dressing wadding
New products

In 1929, a new speciality, cellular cotton wool for hygienic purposes, is introduced. In 1933, the trademark "Tela" is registered for cotton wool products. At the beginning of the Second World War, the 6th paper machine is put into operation, which is used almost exclusively for the production of cellular and dressing wadding.

1949
Sale

The Coba envelope factory is sold.

1956 Finished products
Expansion paper processing

Paper processing is further expanded for finished products. In 1957, a paper machine is converted into the first tissue machine in Europe.

1966 New location
Second factory in Niederbipp

Construction of a second mill in Niederbipp. In 1966, base papers from Balsthal can be processed at the new site for the first time. In addition, Switzerland's first industrial wastewater treatment plant is put into operation. Three years later, Tissue Machine 1 comes on stream, producing the finest crepe tissue paper with advanced technology, high speed and precision. For the first time in the world, the paper machine water circuit is completely closed. As a result, fresh water consumption can be reduced to a previously unimaginable minimum.

1970
Introduction computer

The computer is introduced in the administration.

1984 New workshop building
Share acquisition

The company that owns Tela Papierfabrik, Attisholz-Holding, takes over 75 percent of the shares in Hakle AG in Mainz. A new workshop building is constructed in Niederbipp.

1988
Conversion into holding company

The Attisholz Group is transformed into a holding company comprising Hakle Mainz, Hakle Reichenburg, Tela Papierfabrik AG Balsthal and Niederbipp, Attisholz and Vlesia.

1993
Recycled material pressed for the first time

Pressed recycled stock (wet-lab) is used for the first time on paper machine three in Balsthal.

1996 New start in Balsthal
Devastating fire

A devastating fire destroys the entire processing plant in Niederbipp. Production is restarted in the Klus in Balsthal.

1999 Tela-Kimberly (Switzerland)
Sale & Renaming

The entire hygiene division of Attisholz Holding is sold to Kimberly-Clark, an American manufacturer of sanitary paper. Tela AG is renamed Tela-Kimberly (Switzerland) GmbH.

2006 Sale & Renaming
Swiss Quality Paper Horgen Balsthal AG

Kimberly-Clark closes the Hakle plant in Reichenburg and sells the plant in Balsthal to Papierfabrik Horgen Holding AG. The company is renamed Swiss Quality Paper Horgen Balsthal AG.

2009 Saber Swiss Quality Paper AG
Takeover of the company

The Soin family from India takes over the company and it is renamed Saber Swiss Quality Paper AG. The production strategy revolves around the manufacture of specialty papers for masking tape paper, cigarette filter paper and hygiene products.

2014 Solution from the Saber Group
New focus

Swiss Quality Paper AG is detached from the Saber Group and focuses again more on the Swiss identity of the mill and its qualities.

2016 Separate grinding
Reconstruction of stock preparation

Rebuild of the stock preparation system. The implementation of a large-scale project makes separate grinding possible, and at the same time a new process control system is installed and put into operation, and a transformer system is installed.

2017 Energy generation
New steam turbine

A steam turbine for energy production is put into operation and produces since then about 200'000kWh to be ready for future projects and installations.

2020
Covid-19 and the future

In 2020, the focus is on the health of the company's own employees. The awareness of one's own vulnerability led to a sensitization of sustainability thoughts in the management. This changes the strategies and investments in the future. The challenges of the year have led to planning difficulties and resource shortages. Thanks to its structured working methods and well-connected employees, Swiss Quality Paper AG has always delivered on time, which has made us favoured suppliers to large customers.

Various product developments are planned and investments are being examined in order to meet the increased demand.

Bewegte Geschichte

Traditionsreich:
Swiss Quality Paper

Tradition und Innovation

Die Geschichte
unserer Firma

Die Swiss Quality Paper AG stellt seit ihrer Gründung hochstehende Papierprodukte her. Die Papierfabrik blickt auf eine lange und bewegte Geschichte zurück.

 In all den Jahren hat sie sich erfolgreich durch ein Umfeld bewegt, das sich permanent stark verändert. Mehrmals ist sie dabei als Pionierin aufgefallen und mit Innovationen und Spezialisierungen weltweit bekannt geworden.

1883 Gründung
Industrielle Papierproduktion

Die industrielle Papierproduktion in Balsthal beginnt 1883. Robert und Arthur Bareiss gründen die Kommanditgesellschaft Papier- und Couvertfabrik Balsthal und installieren ein Jahr später die erste Papiermaschine. Die Wurzeln des Unternehmens liegen aber noch weiter zurück: in einer mittelalterlichen Kornmühle und einer Holzschleiferei.

1896 Produktvielfalt
Zweite Papiermaschine

Eine zweite Papiermaschine mit einem Glättezylinder wird in Betrieb genommen. Mit dieser lassen sich einseitig glatte Papiere für Toilettenpapierbüchlein und Röllchen sowie Briefumschläge machen – eine Pionierleistung. Solche Waren mussten bis dahin aus dem Ausland importiert werden. In kurzer Zeit stellt die Fabrik eine Vielfalt von Produkten her, unter anderem auch Schulheftdeckel und Zuckerstockpapier.

1911 Elektrik & neue Papiermaschinen
Weitere Papierprodukte

Ab 1900 wird die Papierverarbeitung weiter ausgebaut, damit auch Büropapiere produziert werden können. 1911 wird das gesamte Werk elektrifiziert. Zwei weitere Papiermaschinen werden installiert. So kann auch Druck- und Schreibpapier, Karton, Seidenpapier und Dünnpergament hergestellt werden.

1918 Ausbau Papierverarbeitung
Couvertsfabrik Coba

Die Couvertsfabrik Coba wird erstellt. Die Papierverarbeitung wird weiter ausgebaut.

1927 Seidenpapier Herstellung
Papiermaschine 5

Papiermaschine 5 mit Glättezylinder für Seidenpapier wird eingeführt.

1933 Zell- und Verbandwatte
Neue Produkte

1929 wir eine neue Spezialität, die Zellwatte für hygienische Zwecke, eingeführt. 1933 wird die Marke «Tela» für Watteprodukte eingetragen. Zu Beginn des Zweiten Weltkrieges wird die 6. Papiermaschine in Betrieb genommen, die fast ausschliesslich der Fabrikation von Zell- und Verbandwatte dient.

1949
Verkauf

Die Couvertsfabrik Coba wird verkauft.

1956 Fertigprodukte
Ausbau Papierverarbeitung

Die Papierverarbeitung wird weiter ausgebaut für Fertigprodukte. 1957 wird eine Papiermaschine zur ersten Tissuemaschine Europas umgebaut.

1966 Neuer Standort
Zweite Fabrik in Niederbipp

Bau einer zweiten Fabrik in Niederbipp. 1966 können am neuen Standort zum ersten Mal Rohpapiere aus Balsthal verarbeitet werden. Zudem wird die erste industrielle Abwasser-Reinigungsanlage der Schweiz in Betrieb genommen. Drei Jahre später läuft die Tissuemaschine 1 an, die mit fortgeschrittener Technologie, hoher Geschwindigkeit und Präzision feinstes Kreppseidenpapier – sogenanntes Tissue – produziert. Zum ersten Mal auf der Welt wird der Papiermaschinen-Wasserkreislauf vollständig geschlossen. Dadurch kann der Frischwasser-Verbrauch auf eine bis dahin nicht für möglich gehaltene, kleinste Menge reduziert werden.

1970
Einführung Computer

In der Administration wird der Computer eingeführt.

1984 Neues Werkstattgebäude
Aktien-Übernahme

Die Eigentümergesellschaft der Tela Papierfabrik, die Attisholz-Holding, übernimmt 75 Prozent der Aktien der Firma Hakle AG in Mainz. In Niederbipp wird ein neues Werkstattgebäude erstellt.

1988
Umwandlung in Holding

Der Attisholz-Konzern wird in eine Holding mit den Unternehmen Hakle Mainz, Hakle Reichenburg, Tela Papierfabrik AG Balsthal und Niederbipp, Attisholz und Vlesia umgewandelt.

1993
Erstes Mal gepresster Recyclingstoff

An der Papiermaschine drei in Balsthal wird zum ersten Mal gepresster Recyclingstoff (Wet-Lab) eingesetzt.

1996 Neubeginn in Balsthal
Verheerender Brand

Ein verheerender Brand zerstört die gesamte Verarbeitung in Niederbipp. Neubeginn der Produktion in der Klus in Balsthal.

1999 Tela-Kimberly (Switzerland)
Verkauf & Umbenennung

Der gesamte Hygienebereich der Attisholz Holding wird an Kimberly-Clark, ein amerikanischer Hersteller von Hygienepapier, verkauft. Die Tela AG wird umbenannt zur Tela-Kimberly (Switzerland) GmbH.

2006 Verkauf & Umbenennung
Swiss Quality Paper Horgen Balsthal AG

Kimberly-Clark schliesst das Hakle-Werk in Reichenburg und verkauft das Werk in Balsthal an die Papierfabrik Horgen Holding AG. Das Unternehmen wird in Swiss Quality Paper Horgen Balsthal AG umbenannt.

2009 Saber Swiss Quality Paper AG
Übernahme der Firma

Die Familie Soin aus Indien übernimmt die Firma und das Unternehmen wird in Saber Swiss Quality Paper AG umbenannt. Die Produktionsstrategie dreht sich um die Herstellung von Spezialpapieren für Abdeckbandpapier, Zigarettenfilterpapier und Hygieneprodukten.

2014 Lösung von der Saber Gruppe
Neue Fokussierung

Swiss Quality Paper AG wird von der Saber Gruppe gelöst und fokussiert sich wieder vermehrt auf die schweizer Identität der Fabrik und ihre Qualitäten.

2016 Getrenntmahlung
Umbau der Stoffaufbereitung

Umbau der Stoffaufbereitung. Durch das Umsetzen eines Grossprojektes wird Getrenntmahlung möglich, gleichzeitig wird ein neues Prozessleitsystem installiert und in Betrieb genommen sowie eine Trafoanlage eingebaut.

2017 Energiegewinnung
Neue Dampfturbine

Eine Dampfturbine zur Energiegewinnung wird in Betrieb genommen und produziert seither zirka 200’000kWh, um auch für zukünftige Projekte und Installationen bereit zu sein.

2020
Covid-19 und die Zukunft

Im Jahr 2020 steht der Fokus auf der Gesundheit der eigenen Mitarbeiter. Das Bewusstwerden der eigenen Verletzlichkeit führte im Management zu einer Sensibilisierung der Nachhaltigkeitsgedanken. Dadurch ändern sich die Strategien und Investitionen in der Zukunft. Die Herausforderungen des Jahres haben zu Planungsschwierigkeiten und Ressourcenknappheit geführt. Die Swiss Quality Paper AG hat durch die strukturierte Arbeitsweise und Dank gut vernetzten Mitarbeitern immer pünktlich geliefert, was uns zu favorisierten Lieferanten grosser Abnehmer gemacht hat.

Diverse Produktentwicklungen sind geplant und Investition werden geprüft um die gestiegene Nachfrage zu decken.